• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.

HALL HIGH SCHOOL

975 North Main Street
West Hartford, CT 06117
Phone: 860-232-4561
Fax: 860-236-0366

Dan Zittoun, Principal 

English

STAFF

SUPERVISOR EMAIL PHONE WEB LINK
 Kris Nystrom  kris_nystrom@whps.org  x5150  
TEACHERS      
 Erik Bergvik  erik_bergvik@whps.org  x6301  
 Katy Blake (formerly Yates)  katy_blake@whps.org  x6307  Homework
 Carol Blejwas   carol_blejwas@whps.org  x6321  Websites
 Cary Blocker  cary_blocker@whps.org  x6320  Homework
 Anna Capobianco   anna_capobianco@whps.org  x6303  Homework
 Scott Ferguson   scott_ferguson@whps.org  x6322  Homework
 Kaitlyn Frakl  kaitlyn_frakl@whps.org  x6308  Homework
 Kelly Fransen   kelly_fransen@whps.org  x6312  Website
 Melissa Hickey  melissa_roy@whps.org  x6317  Homework
 Jennifer Lanese  jennifer_lanese@whps.org  x6318  
 Rochelle Schnitzer  rochelle_schnitzer@whps.org  x6300  
 Kristine Martin  kristine_martin@whps.org  x6203  
 James Solomon  jim_solomon@whps.org  x6501  Website
 Kelly Walsh  kelly_walsh@whps.org  x6316  
 Matthew West   matthew_west@whps.org  x6302  Homework

CURRICULUM

The West Hartford English curriculum is comprised of full-year freshman and sophomore courses plus a variety of full-year and semester electives for juniors and seniors. While courses vary in content, focus, and level of difficulty, these skills - literature and language study, writing, and critical thinking - receive careful attention in every course. In addition to helping students develop interest and proficiency in these areas, English teachers provide students with extended and individual assistance through the teacher-student conferences, portfolio work, and state and SAT test preparation. After completing the required English 9 and English 10 courses, students chooseamong the elective offerings for a program suitable to their interests and needs. To meet district and state requirements, all students must earn eight semester English credit (four credits). Three of those credits must be earned in any full-year literature-based courses. All English courses have a summer reading requirement.  Note: Before enrolling in upper level courses, students must fulfill, in sequence, their English 9 and English 10 requirements. 

DOCUMENTS AND LINKS

West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite