• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.

CONARD HIGH SCHOOL

110 Beechwood Road
West Hartford, CT 06107
Phone: 860-231-5000
Fax: 860-521-6699

Julio Duarte, Principal 

REACH

 

   

REACH Mission Statement 

The mission of the REACH program is to provide students with an alternative educational experience that cultivates academic, social, interpersonal, and vocational development. Our curriculum exposes students to issues of diversity, tolerance, acceptance and understanding of others. Challenging, standards-based academic offerings will prepare students to pursue a variety of post-high school endeavors. REACH students will participate in curriculum-based and community opportunities designed to help them become engaged, responsible and informed citizens.

 

Program Description

REACH is the Alternative High School for both Conard and Hall. With small class sizes of approximately 10 students per class, most regular education students who have struggled in the past find success at REACH. Typical reasons for a referral to REACH include issues with attendance, academics, homework completion, cutting classes, or just a lack of comfort in the larger school environment. Students who attend REACH benefit from guided note-taking and reinforced study skills, as well as more individualized attention. Students remain a member of their home school of Conard or Hall and can continue to participate in all athletics, clubs and other after school activities. Students who attend REACH gain confidence in their own academic abilities, complete required credits for graduation and develop a sense of pride and ownership in the program. There is a collaborative approach to learning with emphasis placed on a student’s independent learning styles and the use of technology to enhance the learning experience. Additionally, students participate in a Career Exploration Program along with a Group Dynamics course, which focuses on social skills, character building and self-exploration.  Individual support is available for students on a daily basis from all staff including a School Social Worker. If you are interested in exploring REACH further for your son or daughter, please contact your School Counselor.

 

Faculty & Staff

Faculty Member Position/Subject Phone# Email
Shelley A. Solomon Administrator 860-231-5000 ext. 5104

shelley_solomon@whps.org

Jamahl Hines Dean of Students 860-231-5000 ext. 5004

jamahl_hines@whps.org

Diane Phelan Lead Secretary 860-231-5000 ext. 6009 Diane_Phelan@whps.org
Corinne Byrne Teacher/Math 860-231-5000 ext. 6021 corinne_byrne@whps.org
Matt Collins Teacher/Social Studies 860-231-5000 ext. 6085 matt_collins@whps.org
Steve Kowal Teacher/Science 860-231-5000 ext. 6083 steve_kowal@whps.org
Jordan Rueckert Teacher/English 860-231-5000 ext. 6022 jordan_rueckert@whps.org
Carol Wilkas Teacher/Career, Business & Mentoring 860-231-5000 ext. 6025 carol_wilkas@whps.org
Beverly Yirigian Social Worker & Home School Liasion 860-231-5000 ext. 6026 beverly_yirigian@whps.org

 

 

 

West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite